The Opener

by

Hello, I’m Daisy, here’s another picture for anyone who couldn’t be at the Opener last night:

 

Poetry International Opener

Poetry International Opener

I couldn’t go to the John Berger event, but I hope I’ll hear about it here. Hope to see some of you tonight.

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “The Opener”

  1. George Ttoouli Says:

    Lovely picture. I think someone made me appear more dashing and handsome than I am in real life, though… Why am I the only one turning to face the artist from that group? Did I know something that no one else did?

  2. davidmorley Says:

    Daisy – you make amazing images. I wish I could be there. There’s enough of us to have a Warwick reunion.

  3. Yemisi Blake Says:

    Hello Daisy,

    This is great. I love windows at the top too!
    Oh, and no worries about my head. It’s pretty accurate 😉
    I’ll be posting some audio from the John Berger event soon.

    Welcome to the blog.

    Yemisi

  4. Susie Says:

    As someone who has long followed Palestinian poetry, it was a revelation to hear poems by the likes of Mahmoud Darwish and Samih al-Qasim being read by Street Genius. The readings added something fresh and special. Eg the reading of Darwish’s Identity Card – “Write down, I am an Arab”. Written early in the late Darwish’s poetry career – yet so prophetic – and the reading brought out the defiance, particularly in the poem’s last line. The whole event was v memorable, and it was great to see the spontaneous stage “happening” that erupted towards the end with Palestinian singer Reem Kelani, pianist Bruno Heinen and the readers on stage. A great festival opener.

  5. gizellaojadi Says:

    lol, i love the drawings. The microphone and panther. hehehehe 😀 lol.

Leave a Reply

