The new “Jersusalem”

by

hi every one i hope your enjoyed the international poetry week. i wrote  my own version of the begining of the poem jerusalem by william blake, just for fun!!!

Original version


And did those feet in ancient time
Walk upon England’s mountain green?
And was the holy Lamb of God
On England’s pleasant pastures seen?

And did the Countenance Divine
Shine forth upon our clouded hills?
And was Jerusalem builded here
Among these dark Satanic mills?

Bring me my bow of burning gold!
Bring me my arrows of desire!
Bring me my spear! O clouds, unfold!
Bring me my chariot of fire!

I will not cease from mental fight,
Nor shall my sword sleep in my hand
Till we have built Jerusalem
In England’s green and pleasant land.

My Version (JUST THE BEGINING)

And did my shoes in modern times

Walk on London’s tarmac

And was the holy servant of God

Dwelling in the areas of London’s Peckham, Brixton, waterloo, Camberwell Dulwich

SOUTHWARK AND THE HOLY LAMBETH

 

And did the face of God shine on Dog Kennel Hill (se22)

And was Jerusalem built upon these murderous streets

Were the bloods of 27 black boys run down the River Thames.

 

So give me the paper of encouragement

Give me the pen of inspiration

Give me the power in my voice

 

For I shall not stop this every day fight

To keep the future of the young

Bright.

One Response to “The new “Jersusalem””

  1. Lucy Macnab Says:

    Congratulations on your first blog post Mikel, it’s great! Love the poem. Lucy

Leave a Reply

